Awards and Recognitions

  • Oct. 3, 2019

    Katrina Cornish, horticulture and crop science

    SI Faculty Advisory Board


    Cornish received the 2019 Ohio Faculty Council Technology Commercialization Award for work with her start up company EnergyEne and guayule latex.


  • Sept. 20, 2019

    Rattan Lal, environment and natural resources

    SI Affiliated Faculty


    Lal received this highest honor presented to a university graduate for his work on two areas of global concern: managing soil to minimize the risks of degradation so as to sustain food production, and restoring the health of degraded and damaged soil.


  • Sept. 9, 2019

    Bharat Bhushan, mechanical and aerospace engineering

    Bharat Bhushan received an Honorary Doctorate from the prestigious University of Tyumen, Russia. He received this recognition for his outstanding contributions to fundamental studies in the interdisciplinary areas of bio/nanotribology/nanomechanics, nanomaterials characterization and bio/nanotechnology with a focus on scanning probe techniques, biomimetics/bioinspiration, and science policy.


  • Aug. 15, 2019

    Yue Qin, geography

    SI Core Faculty


    The journal Nature published "Committed emissions from existing energy infrastructure jeopardize 1.5 °C climate target," an article that Qin co-authored.


  • Aug. 12, 2019

    Darryl B. Hood, environmental health sciences

    SI affiliated faculty


    As the newly appointed fellow, Hood will be in-residence at the CEC for a minimum of 10-hours per week for the full semester. Once per week, he will hold open hours during which community members can drop in and learn more about his extensive environmental and social-justice research portfolio in neighborhoods comprising the Southern Gateway of Columbus.


  • July 22, 2019

    Ian Sheldon, agricultural, environmental, and development economics


    The Fellow designation is the AAEA's most prestigious honor.


  • July 16, 2019

    Ajay Shah, food, agricultural and biological engineering

    SI Affiliated Faculty


    Ajay Shah, Associate Professor in the Department of Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering (FABE), was recently honored with the Young Engineer of the Year award at the Northeast Agricultural and Biological Engineering Conference (NABEC), a community of the American Society of Agricultural & Biological Engineers (ASABE). Each year, the award honors one member of NABEC, who has made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the agricultural and biological engineering profession. 


  • July 11, 2019

    Bhavik Bakshi, chemical and biomolecular engineering

    SI Faculty Advisory Board


    Bakshi received two of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers' (AIChE) most prestigious awards in the realm of environmental and sustainable engineering. The Cecil Award, given to individuals who make outstanding contributions and achievements in chemical engineering to aid with the preservation or improvement of the environment, was bestowed upon Bakshi by the Environmental Division of AIChE. The Sustainable Engineering Forum Education Award is presented to parties who have made and continue to make advancements in sustainability engineering education. In concurrence with these awards, Bakshi has been invited to AIChE's November annual meeting, where he will give the Cecil Lecture and be recognized for both awards.


  • June 14, 2019

    Karen Dannemiller, Civil, Environmental and Geodetic Engineering

    SI Core Faculty and Faculty Advisory Board


    Speaking about the microbiome of spacecraft. This conference will help NASA understand the abundance, type, and characteristics of the varieties of microbes found in spacecraft to mitigate problems that could occur during space exploration and capitalize on opportunities to control the spacecraft microbiome for the benefit of long-term space exploration.


  • June 8, 2019

    Katrina Cornish, horticulture and crop science

    SI Faculty Advisory Board


    Cornish received this award for her outstanding leadership and research contributions in developing next-generation bio-based materials by processes that are safe and environmentally friendly. The Bioenvironmental Polymer Society (BEPS) recognizes scientific excellence and service to the society. The prestigious lifetime achievement award is given to BEPS members who have made outstanding contributions that have advanced the scientific field and/or technological development of biopolymers, bio-based materials, or bioplastic/materials related to bioenergy.