Headshot photo of Elena Irwin on green background

Elena Irwin honored as Food Systems Leadership Institute Fellow

Back to News
January 21, 2021

The Department of Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economic's Elena Irwin was one of 25 Fellows of the Food Systems Leadership Institute (FSLI) who were honored Nov. 4, 2020, during a recognition ceremony at the virtual annual meeting of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU).  The Fellows were recognized for their accomplishments in completing the FSLI executive leadership development program and for contributions they have made to their individual organizations and the broader higher education and food systems. 

Irwin currently serves as distinguished professor of food, agricultural and environmental sciences in economics and sustainability in the Department of Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economics and faculty director of the Sustainability Institute at Ohio State.  Her current research includes coupled human-natural systems modeling of agricultural land use and water quality; food, energy, water systems modeling of the Great Lakes regional economy; sustainability theory and assessment; urbanization patterns and ecosystem services; and urban housing markets and redevelopment.

Additional Fellows from Ohio State include Dr. Sheryl Barringer, professor and chair of Food Science and Technology, and Dr. Shannon Washburn, professor and chair, Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership (ACEL).

The FSLI is a 2-year program designed for experienced leaders in academia, government, and industry.  Through a dynamic curriculum that includes three executive style residential sessions, individual coaching, mentoring, and personal projects, the FSLI seeks to enhance personal leadership ability, develop skills and knowledge for organizational change, and broaden perspectives on integrated food systems. 

Read more about the Food Systems Leadership Institute Fellows.